Review : Secrets of the Dead – Carol Wyer

Secrets of the Dead is the second outing for fiesty DI Robyn Carter – and it doesn’t disappoint.

The book opens with a grisly discovery – a hotel manager is discovered dead in the hotel sauna after somehow becoming trapped in there. Early reports indicate that he would not have entered the sauna due to a lifelong heart condition. So why was he in there out of hours, and is this foul play at work?

A young Mother found dead in the bath in just her underwear, with a ‘note’ indicating a debt has been paid is the next unfortunate to cross Robyn’s path. Sadly, she isn’t the last victim of the media dubbed ‘Lichfield Leopard’ – the receipts are piling up.

How are these cases connected? Are they even connected at all? Robyn is sure the answer to this is a resounding yes – but how to prove it? A narrative from the ‘Leopard’ keeps us on our toes throughout this gripping, fast paced thriller that will keep you asking questions right until the very end.

Robyn Carter is a breath of fresh air – a great new character, feisty, strong, determined – I can’t wait to read more about her!

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbot, Patricia Gibney.

4 stars

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s